Van Schaick Island Country Club is a private, nine-hole golf course with varied front and back nine tee boxes playing to a par 72 for men and 73 for women.
Van Schaick Island Country Club was founded in 1895. The original golf course was comprised of two holes where the first and sixth holes are currently located. In 1900, the club was incorporated as “The Island Club”. Jack Gormley designed the present nine hole layout in 1915. In 1916, the course changed its name to Van Schaick Island Country Club. In 1936, a fire destroyed most of the clubhouse. The clubhouse was rebuilt during the following year to include a new lounge, men’s, and ladies locker rooms. In 1965 the club underwent major renovations as a new sprinkler system was installed and a pool was added. In 1988, the original par of 70 was changed to 72 as the first and 14th holes were extended.
Van Schaick Island Country Club maintains six tee locations for each hole, ensuring an enjoyable round for golfers of any skill levels. The club offers gentle rolling hills and a picturesque island setting. A minimum distance from green to tee makes walking this course a pleasure for every golfer.Van Schaick Island Country Club is a challenging, yet playable trek that will test every club in your bag. The bent grass putting greens are meticulously manicured and offer subtle undulation. Natural Fescue lines several holes adding to VSICC’s original Scottish links style layout.
Note that the club is a private venue and is not open to the general public. Guests may play the championship course when invited and accompanied by a member. Smith’s of Cohoes at VSICC is open to the public and is available for special events