Kirriemuir Golf Club, designed by James Braid, lies in the heart of Scotland’s golfing country, 18 miles from Carnoustie and 35 miles from St. Andrews.
The original 9 holes course was designed by Mr Fox, the golf professional from Carnoustie and the work was carried out under the supervision of the green keeper, Norman McKenzie. The course was officially opened on 24th April 1909 with Mrs Kinloch driving off the first ball.
In 1924 extra land was acquired, and from the plans of James Braid, the course was extended from 9 to 18 holes to largely create the course that Kirriemuir Golf Club has today.
Like many of the great golf courses, Kirriemuir’s best is reserved for the finish. The 17th, named Braid’s Gem, is a 180-yard par-3 hole, with the green guarded by two majestic trees both left and right. No. 18 is a difficult par 4, uphill with a large oak tree blocking the right half of the fairway.